Lighted Lamps and Leaping Legs

Lighted Lamps and Leaping Legs

 

“Lord, you light my lamp; my God illuminates my darkness. With You I can attack a barrier, and with my God I can leap over a wall.”  – Psalms 18:28-29

God is the source of my sight, my strength and my success. To me, nothing seems as precious as the ability to see. Many days, I have had eyes, but not seen. Because the Father is the illuminator, He is also the Liberator. There is freedom for me in sight. Seeing Him and what He is doing frees me from my own way and my own plan. To be without vision is a terrible thing. To flounder and wander aimlessly is torture for the soul who is intent on pleasing God. Vision gives direction. It builds purpose and meaning. Vision validates existence. It shouts, “You are important to me!” Vision is life-giving. It calls me from beds of ease and bids me to risk and live. Vision is stability. I walk surely, securely and with determination when I see what I am facing, where I am going and how far I have been. The Father is personal in this (He is my lamp), and He is powerful in this (He illuminates my darkness).

God is my strength. I am not taken out of the warfare of life, but am joined in it. He comes along side of me. With Him: what a glorious prospect, partner and provision! What I could never do alone, I can do with the Almighty! With Him my strategy is clear…attack! My life has been full of barriers…many of which I have created myself. There are none which cannot be overcome through Him. My lot is to live on the offensive. Away my soul with passive pretending! God has commissioned me to attack…to occupy till He comes! The sword and shield are fitted to my hand; I can do nothing else…but stand in Him and do battle. My success is prescribed…”with Him.” I am nothing without Him. I am nothing but successful with Him! The efficiency and efficacy of the Holy Spirit enables me to leap over the walls of barrier to God’s purposes. With Him, jousting becomes jumping; laboring becomes leaping. I remember the words of Daniel, “but the people who know their God will be strong and take action. (Daniel 11:32)

We are challenged to cast down everything to gaze steadfastly into His face. He is our sight, our strength, and our only hope of success. He would own us by His mercy and use us by His might.

Leave a comment

February 10, 2014 · 6:31 pm

Leave a Reply

