Perilous Prayer

Perilous Prayer

 

“If only my request would be granted and God would provide what I hope for: that He would decide to crush me, to unleash His power and cut me off! It would still bring me comfort, and I would leap for joy in unrelenting pain that I have not denied the words of the Holy One.” – Job 6:8-10

It is amazing to me how adventurous and dangerous we become when trials rear their ugly head. Desperation drives us and defines us in the realm of prayer.

Job’s prayer came from the desperation of abandonment. Instead of comfort from a friend, Job received criticism. Nothing hurts like being alone. His cry to God reveals his heart in five requests that he made:

–  Consider me! (If only…)

–  Crush me! (vs. 9a)

–  Cut me! (vs. 9b)

–  Comfort me! (vs. 10a)

–  Conquer me! (vs. 10b)

In the storms Job faced he had a sure footing…a firm foundation. He had not denied the words of the Holy One. I can endure devastating events and desperate times  if I have a safe place to stand. David’s song has become my song, and hopefully your song as well: “I waited patiently for the Lord, and He turned to me and heard my cry for help. He brought me up from a desolate pit, out of the muddy clay, and set my feet on a rock, making my steps secure. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear and put their trust in the Lord.” (Psalms 40:1-3)

What a wonderful work of the Lord that brings us out! Perilous prayer opens the door to the grace of God in our lives and brings about a powerful deliverance! Trust Him today in your storm. Cry out to Him in surrender and brokenness. Wait…and watch Him work!

1 Comment

Filed under Christian Devotions

One response to “Perilous Prayer

Leave a Reply

