The Way Ahead

The Way Ahead

              

“The Lord knows the way of the righteous…” – Psalm 1:6

There is a man, a pastor, who has come to be precious to me. We do not see eye to eye on some things but his infirmity and my prayer for him has given me a genuine love for him. Philip has become my friend.

He has bravely accepted as his creed: “I do not know what tomorrow holds, but I know who holds tomorrow.” I am praying for his cancer as I write.

God knows our way through this day, this week, this month and this year. The word “way” in Psalms 1:6 means, “trodden path.” But Joshua 3:4 reads, “For you have not passed this way before.” If we have not taken this way before, how can it be a “trodden path” for us?

One night, while living in Germany, we had a snow storm. The next morning I watched our neighbor with her two small girls and two neighborhood boys playing “follow the leader” in the snow. The mother went ahead of them as their leader, making a trodden path in the snow. As they followed in her steps the children had no trouble. But when they left the path, they stumbled and fell.

In my life I can follow the Leader…my Lord Jesus Christ. The way ahead is unknown to me…His steps make it a trodden path…for me.

Sometimes my way ahead looks dark…the clouds hang low and the shadows surround me. There is no doubt in my heart that Jesus knows the way ahead. I will keep my gaze on Him and my glance on my circumstances. He knows the way…He is the way.

Leave a comment

January 22, 2014 · 7:27 pm

Leave a Reply

