Who’s Love?


“This is real love – not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son as a sacrifice to take away our sins.”  — 1 John 4:10

A man who was a professed Christian became seriously ill one day. As is often the case when we find ourselves in a weakened state, Satan began to attack him so that waves of fear and doubt overcame him. He was especially troubled about the diminished love he felt in his heart for God.

One day, when one of his friends came to see him, the ailing man told him of his concern for the lack of spiritual warmth in his heart. His friend being a wise counselor and spiritually grounded answered his concern with a personal observation. “When I go home from here, I expect to take my baby girl in my arms, look in her sweet eyes, listen to her wonderful voice, and, as tired as I am her presence will bring such comfort. I love my child with unspeakable tenderness. My daughter, however, loves me little. If my heart were breaking, it would not disturb her sleep. If my body were racked with pain, it would not interrupt her play. Even if I were dead, she would probably forget me in a few days. Besides this, she has never brought me a penny, but is a constant expense to me. I am not rich, but there is not enough money in the world to by my little girl. How is it? Does she love me, or do I love her? Do I withhold my love until I know she loves me? Am I waiting for her to do something worthy of my love before extending it?”

The ailing man got the message. The love of God for His children caused the tears to roll down the sick man’s face. “Oh, I see,” he cried, “it is not my love to God, but God’s love for me that I should be thinking about. Oh, I love Him now as I have never loved Him before!”

Oh, doubting Christian, stop looking within; you will only make yourself more miserable. Keep your gaze on the Lord Jesus Christ and think of His warm, tender, undying love for you, and your assurance will return. When our gaze is on Him and our glance is on our circumstances, we will see with a life-changing clarity.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible Devotions, Christian Devotions, Daily Devotions

Leave a Reply

