The Greater Works

“I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father. You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father. Yes, ask me for anything in my name and I will do it!”  —  John 14:12-14

It is amazing that many of God’s choicest lessons are masked by time, trials and the unexpected. Jesus was anything but predictable and He taught us that God’s ways are just as unexpected and unpredictable as could be.

When I was a young man, I lay in bed at night and dreamed of many “greater works” that I might pursue for the glory of God. Testifying in great crusade meetings, teaching in great halls of worship, college campuses and street corners at Trafalgar Square; these were the dreams of a young preacher boy. I was constantly praying for some greater opportunity.

What a shock came to my innermost being when I discovered that the greater opportunities I was praying for brought me breathlessly close to the greater work of all…prayer. For years I walked all around the “greater work” without ever even realizing it!. My, how it broke my heart to realize that I was admiring the scaffolding and missing the building!

Prayer is the greater work that the Father is calling us to. I am seeing it so clearly now. We are living in a day of great spiritual conflict. The battle is intense…and everywhere. Many who call themselves Christians do not even know that there is a battle going on. But to those who passionately seeking the will of God, they see things clearly. Prayer is an absolute necessity for survival…and revival.

Jesus came down from the mountain, having been transfigured before Peter, James and John. In the valley he encountered His struggling followers, helpless to deal with the bondage of a suffering young man. This young boy was in the grip of the enemy and there was none who could help. Jesus delivered this poor, struggling soul from his bondage, much to the bewilderment of his disciples.

Why couldn’t they do something? Why were they so impotent and ineffective? Jesus responded to their confusion in Matthew 17:21 by pointing out, “However, this kind does not go out except by prayer and fasting.” They had neglected the greater work of prayer.

What a picture of much of “Christianity” in our generation. It seems we are helpless to deliver the struggling and tortured from the bondage of their sin. We have the answer for the emptiness and death plaguing our friends and loved ones. But, are we praying?

Have you been waiting–looking for some greater opportunity and trampled over the greater work of prayer? Have you wondered just what it would take to break the log-jam of apathy and lethargy of your church? Would you be willing to risk anonymity in order to do the greater works of prayer?

There are no spotlights in the closet of prayer but there is holy light, Heavenly power and His presence to those who will venture to live there!

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Devotions

Leave a Reply

