Deep Calls to Deep

 portland waterfall

“Deep calls unto deep at the noise of Your waterfalls; all Your waves and billows have gone over me. The Lord will command His lovingkindness in the daytime, and in the night His song shall be with me–a prayer to the God of my life.”  — Psalm 42:7-8

 

I sense it, even now. Do you? There is a subtle, strange and powerful pull on my heart to come away. A voice is calling me to another place; to breathe deeply from a rare and life-giving atmosphere. It is my Beloved One calling…it is the Lord!

 

My pulse quickens with anticipation as I bow to catch a glimpse of Him. He’s here! I am flushed with embarrassment over what I am…and am not. I want to run away…but I want to run to Him at the same time. And there’s the voice again…deep calling to deep. I can hear it all inside me and I wonder, “Will this be my last chance? Will this be my last visit with the Lover of My Soul?”

 

Do those words sound strange to you? Do they sound like the words of a dreamer–an idealist who has somehow lost touch with reality? Do these passionate longings for God leave you feeling strangely uneasy or uncomfortable? They shouldn’t.

 

David, the son of Jesse, was a man after God’s own heart (Acts 13:22). God described David this way because he was passionate in his relationship with God and in his pursuit of Him. David wrote:

“As the deer pants for the water brooks, so pants my soul for You, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When shall I come and appear before God? My tears have been my food day and night, while they continually say to me, ‘Where is your God?'”  —  Psalm 42:1-3

David had a heart for God because he had a heart that belonged to God. David’s passion flowed from his possession. His greatest treasure had become the God whom he worshipped.

 

Where is our passion today? Where are the great longings of our heart? Where is the thirst that cannot be quenched by anyone or anything but God himself? It seems that we have forsaken the living, flowing stream for broken cisterns that hold no water (Jeremiah 2:13). We have looked to the world for satisfaction and have come up empty and dry. Many are carnal, powerless and devoid of the dynamic that sets God’s children apart from Satan’s children.

 

Deep is calling to deep. Many cannot hear His voice because they are dead in trespasses and sins. Many refuse to hear His voice because they do not want to. They know that hearing deep calling to deep would upset their whole world. They would have to change. Their lives would no longer be their own. Many do not know what to do when they hear His voice because they have had no contemporary models–no examples living among them that have heard the voice of God and have run to meet Him.

 

In these last days deep is calling to deep. I am hearing the call. I am asking you to hear with your heart..in your spirit. He is calling us. He is longing to bathe us in the brightness of His holiness until we are clean and pure. He is anxious to give us words to take to a world in darkness. He is ready to command His lovingkindness in the daytime and to give us songs in the night!

 

Don’t miss what God has for you in these days. Seek Him with all your heart and He will be found!

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Devotions

Leave a Reply

