Little Losses

 

part20320pic20121

 

 

Personal Note:  I have not posted in a week due to a much needed vacation. I was away from technology for a whole week. Funny thing, I had no symptoms of withdrawal and no anxiety! There are some things we can live without.

 

 

“As dead flies cause even a bottle of perfume to stink, so a little foolishness spoils great wisdom and honor.” – Ecclesiastes 10:1

 

 

A week-long fishing trip to Lake Eufala has yielded many valuable lessons. One of those lessons came at the expense of almost sinking my boat.

 

 

All bass boats, no matter what their price, have a common part that is essential to the floatation of the boat. This part is commonly known as the “boat plug.”

 

 

The boat plug is a very inexpensive item–$3.00 at Wal-Mart. It is always located at the back of the boat below the water line.

 

 

The insignificance of its size and location do not diminish its importance. Without the boat plug, the boat will sink.

 

 

Without knowing it, I lost my boat plug as I pulled on shore to eat lunch with my wife. By the time we had finished our picnic, the boat was half-full of water.  Drastic measures had to be taken to keep the boat from sinking.

 

 

Sin is like losing the boat plug. Most of the time, it is not the “big sins” that cause us to sink. “Little flies” like our selfishness, anger, envy, jealousy, strife and complaining spoil the fragrance of our lives.

 

 

When the boat plug comes out in our lives we must take drastic action. Sin must be recognized, repented of (1 John 1:9), put to death in our flesh so that a flood of other things doesn’t rush in.

 

 

In the final days of life as we have known it, the challenge to my heart…and to yours is for us to live in purity and godliness so that our witness for Christ may have its clearest hearing. Don’t let your boat plug come out and sink when the time is so short!

2 Comments

Filed under Christian Devotions

2 responses to “Little Losses

  1. Joni

    Hey, Bro. Tony! Just wanted you to know I missed reading your blog each day last week, but I hope you and Mrs. Shirlon enjoyed your time away! Sure glad you are back, and we look forward to seeing you on Wednesday.

  2. revgork

    Tony,
    It’s so good to catch up to you on your blog. Now I can read yours as you read mine. I sure look forward to continuing to catch your heart for God.

    I envy your fishing vacation. Our season doesn’t open for another 2 weeks. But my boat is ready. I’ll check the plug when I get home.

    Brother John in Eau Claire, Wisconsin

Leave a Reply

