God’s Good Gifts

1011008pinkribbon_l

 

“Whatever is good and perfect comes down to us from God…” — James 1:17

It’s a girl! It’s a girl! It’s a girl! This morning I found out that my precious daughter is having a girl. My heart rejoices at the good gifts God gives! I am so excited (as you can tell).

 

When I heard this morning, I wanted to shout and dance a jig but I was in the waiting room at a hospital, ministering to some of our church folk. My heart reminded me that there is a time for everything under the sun. So I waited until I was outside in the parking lot! I’m sure the lady getting out of the car next to mine had not seen anything like it!

 

As I was thinking a moment ago about how wonderful God has been to me in the prospect of a future granddaughter, my spirit was arrested by the truth that God has, in faithful love, given me His Son! What joy should fill my heart! What anticipation should shine across my path! What praise should fill my heart! He has given a Son — His Son, to purchase my pardon from the sentence of my sin…to secure my place in His family, and to pour into my being His overflowing life!

 

I can just hear Mary saying in the stable: It’s a boy! It’s a boy! It’s my Lord…

3 Comments

Filed under Christian Devotions

3 responses to “God’s Good Gifts

  1. Karen

    I am so excited. A girl! We are evening things out now. This will even things out in the nursery.
    Wow! That is so awesome!
    Congrats!

  2. Tony, Blessing on you and the new addition coming to the family. May the God of heaven shine on you and yours. Children are a blessing from the Lord, it is so good to hear a grandpa brag on his coming little ones. In our world today we are being attacked for wanting to continue the family values appointed by God as a blessing for us. Your right we should return to the old paths. Good job Brother Tony dancing is of the Lord in the parking lot in praise. Your Friend in Christ. Brother Danny

  3. Oh what great news, Tony! What a blessing, to have a little girl who will doubtlessly wrap her Grandad around her little finger in no time flat! I couldn’t be happier for you – and I LOVE the vision of you dancing a jig over your happiness!! God bless you, and that little one.

Leave a Reply

