Life at the Gap

the-gap 

 

“I looked for someone who might rebuild the wall of righteousness that guards the land. I searched for someone to stand in the gap in the wall so I wouldn’t have to destroy the land, but I found no one. So now I will pour out my fury on them, consuming them with the fire of my anger. I will heap on their heads the full penalty for all their sins. I, the Sovereign Lord, have spoken!”  — Ezekiel 22:30-31

 

In January of 1981, the first winter after my wife and I were married, we decided to take a mini-vacation in Tennessee. We were surprised by a winter storm and stranded for a few days because of the snow and ice covering the roads.

 

 

On our way home we encountered many eighteen-wheelers that had jackknifed on the road. The presence of ice on the road caused many cars in front of us to spin out of control and slide sideways into other cars.

 

 

I had plenty of experience driving in bad weather so the ice was not a real problem to me. But I found myself shouting at the cars in front of me and saying, “Don’t do it! Don’t try to go there!” only to watch them slide helplessly into another car. My pleadings were fruitless because the warning didn’t come in time or was never heard.

 

 

This morning, as I considered where we are going as a people and a nation, I am crying out to God, “Lord, don’t do it! Please help us not to go there!” I see us, our culture and our nation in a helpless moral and spiritual slide that can only end in disaster…unless…

 

broken-wall

 

God said in Ezekiel He was looking for someone who would live in the gap. Someone who would come before Him with pleadings and prayer and say, “God, don’t do it. Please don’t destroy us. Give us another chance!” Someone needs to get serious about our situation and passionate about our God! I am one of those “someone’s.”

 

 

Just like in Noah’s day, God is issuing a warning of coming judgment. In the face of this reality, people go on their merry way living their lives as though nothing is wrong and that danger is not present. In the words of a poet:

 

 “The world is asleep in the dark that it just can’t fight, because the church is asleep in the light.

How can we be so dead, when we’ve been so well fed?

Jesus rose from the grave, and you, you can’t even get out of bed!”

 

I beg you to join me in praying to the Lord, “Don’t do it!” I have determined in my heart to live at the gap and seek God’s mercy on the land that I love…

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Devotions

Leave a Reply

