Contrasting Pictures

“But the path of the just is like the shining sun, that shines ever brighter unto the perfect day.”  –Proverbs 4:18

 

 

brLooking at a picture of the great scholar Bertrand Russell in his later years made me feel sad. Although his face reflected courage, it was grim and showed no sign of joy or hope.

 

 

He was born into a Christian home and taught to believe in God, but he rejected his training and became an outspoken atheist. His daughter, Katherine Tait, said of him, ”Somewhere at the bottom of his heart, in the depths of his soul, there was and empty space that once had been filled with God, and he never found anything else to put in it.”

 

 milford2

A picture of my friend, Milford, taken around his 80th birthday, presents a striking contrast. It reflects a youthful and beautiful serenity born of a deep faith in God that has been nurtured for many years. As a man now in his eighties, he still plays pranks and jokes with us. Each time I talk with him, I get the sense of a peace and contentment in him that refreshes my life.

 

 

Milford is an illustration of Proverbs 4:18. He is not sour, bitter or cantankerous. He is sweet, joyous and pliable in his “old age.” I am so grateful that by God’s grace I have placed my trust in Christ and walk the same path.

 

 

On what path are you walking? Your choice will make all the difference in the world—not only in your appearance as you grow older, but also where you will spend eternity!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Contrasting Pictures

  1. Tony, thank you for this post! I have been spending a great deal of time with my elderly parents in this new year (they both fell and were hospitalized and are now recovering in a skilled care facility.) This time with them has taught me so much about how I want to live my life and mark my days. Lord, may I always live a life of gratitude and joy whether my circumstances compel it or seem to repel it. It is ultimately my choice to be a willing vessel in the hands of God.

    Your blog always ministers to me, Tony. Thanks for letting the Lord use your mind and hands for ministry.

Leave a Reply

