Strength for Our Steps

long-road-walking-walk-score-photo

 

 

“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.”  — Psalm 23:4

 

 

We are standing on the doorstep of a new year. The possibilities and opportunities before us are limited only by our faith in God. As I think about what this year may hold, I am breathless at the prospects.

 

 

This could be a year of rejoicing. This could be a year of revival. This could be the year of our Lord’s return for His church!

 

 

Now I know that there are some reading this that might be thinking: “What about all the bad stuff that might take place? What about all the ominous financial difficulties? What about sickness? What about death?”

 

 

All I know is this: with God in my life, I can face anything—good or bad! I’d rather walk with God in the darkness than to walk by myself in the light!

 

 

On February 11, 1861, President-elect Abraham Lincoln left his home in Springfield to begin his rail journey to Washington, where he was to be inaugurated a month later. Lincoln had a premonition this would be the last time he would see Springfield.

 

 

Standing on the rear platform of his railroad car, he bid the townspeople farewell. He closed his remarks with these words:

 

“Today I leave you. I go to assume a task more difficult than that which devolved upon General Washington. The great God which guided him must help me. Without that assistance I shall surely fail; with it, I cannot fail.”

 

 

The same is true for us, regardless of the tasks we face. Without God’s assistance, we cannot succeed. We can work, make money, pay bills, provide for our families and get everything done without accident or incident but without God’s strength and guidance, our lives would be a confused mess!

 

 

Does God care about what happens in our day? Absolutely! When we become overwhelmed, making the smallest tasks into mountains, He helps us to “gather ourselves.” Step-by-step He shows us the way and our strength is renewed to go on.

 

 

We face a new year with His strength for our steps! The journey may come to an end this year but for those who know Christ personally, the fellowship never will!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

