Too Early to Quit!

italian20soilder20surreder_12032580232 

 

“Let us hold tightly without wavering to the hope we affirm, for God can be trusted to keep His promise.”  — Hebrews 10:23

 

 

In 1902, an aspiring young writer received a rejection letter from the poetry editor of The Atlantic Monthly. Enclosed with a collection of poems the 28-year old poet had sent was this curt note: “Our magazine has no room for your vigorous verse.” He rejected the rejection, however, and went on to see his work published. His name was Robert Frost.

 

 

In 1905, the University of Bern turned down a Ph.D. dissertation as being fanciful and irrelevant. The young physics student, who wrote the dissertation, rejected their rejection and went on to develop some of his fanciful ideas into widely accepted theories. His name was Albert Einstein.

 

 

In 1894, a sixteen-year old found this note from his rhetoric teacher at Harrow, in England, attached to his report card: “A conspicuous lack of success.” The young man rejected the rejection and went on to become one of the most famous speakers of the twentieth century. His name was Winston Churchill.

 

 

I don’t know about you, but I’ve run into a few obstacles this year, a few surprise circumstances, a few heartbreaks, a few disappointments and yes a few rejections. Have I ever wanted to quit? Yup, several times (in my mind). Have I ever whined? Uh-huh, on occasion (but everyone around me loved me enough to ignore me or laugh at me). Have I ever pouted? Yes, (my lips were pooched out so much, I had to carry them around in a wheel barrow)…but God has kept His promises.

 

 

I choose here and now to reject my rejections. Proverbs 24:16 says, “The godly may trip seven times, but they will get up again…” I want to end the year the way I began.

 

 

Because God has been so faithful to me, I choose to be a disciple of Christ:

 

  • I will not slow up, let up, shut up or give up until I’m taken up!
  • I’ll preach till my teeth fall out, then I’ll gum the devil to death!
  • I’ll walk toward the cross till I’m cripple, crawl till I can’t and then I’ll fall in His direction!

 

We don’t have to live like everyone else in our culture (He transforms us)!  We can swim upstream (He empowers us)! We can live with passion for Christ (He ignites us)! We can keep going (He sustains us)! It’s too early to quit (He promised us)!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

