Appreciation or Depreciation?

 

 

“Your love has given me much joy and comfort, my brother, for your kindness has often refreshed the hearts of God’s people.”

— Philemon 7

 

I cannot resist. This is Pastor’s Appreciation Month and I want to encourage everyone who reads these verbal offerings to take the time to say, “Thank you” and “I love you” to your pastor.  I have many that I consider a pastor to me: Milford, Robert, Garry, Wayne, Lane, etc.  To them and many more I say, “Thank you!”

 

 

One man asked yesterday, “If I only appreciate my pastor one month – October, does that mean he depreciates the other eleven?”

 

 

Maybe you don’t like your pastor. You might even entertain ideas of “getting rid” of him. If so, let me give you some sure-fire strategies for doing just that:

 

 

  1. Look the pastor straight in the eye while he’s preaching and say, “Amen” once in a while, and he’ll preach himself to death. 
  2. Pat him on the back and brag on his good points, and he’ll probably work himself to death. 
  3. Rededicate your life to Christ and ask the preacher for some job to do, preferably some lost person you could win to Christ, and he’ll die of heart failure!
  4. Get the church to unite in prayer for the preacher, and he’ll soon become so effective that some larger church will take him off your hands.

 

 

Love your pastor. God gave him to you as a gift (Ephesians 4:11).  How you treat God’s gift says a lot about the way you view God.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Devotions

Leave a Reply

