Recognized?

“And the evil spirit answered and said, ‘Jesus I know, and Paul I know, but who are you?’”     

— Acts 19:15

 

“But I (Jesus) will reply, ‘I never knew you. Get away from me, you who break God’s laws.’”

  Matthew 7:23

 

 

It always seems so strange when it happens.  Yesterday, I was in my hometown, Dothan, ministering to some church folks and spending a little time with my wife.  In the process of the day I ran into two people that I knew but had not seen for several years.

 

 

Their response was both surprising and telling.  They did not know who I was!  As I thought about these two encounters I realized that one of three things was true.

 

 

One, I had changed tremendously.  Time must have invaded my space and given me a body-slam…so to speak.  Two, they could have changed tremendously.  Time may have woven cobwebs in their memories that they could not see through.  Three, I never really connected or mattered. 

 

 

In the case of these two experiences, after a quick laugh and a renewing of acquaintances, the surprise subsided and life went on.  It will not be that way when we stand before the Lord.

 

To be recognized in Heaven and Hell is of the utmost importance.  Jesus said that those he did not recognized would be banished from His presence forever.  We must know Him personally, but He also must know us or we are in trouble!

 

 

We must also be recognized in Hell.  The ring of authenticity in our Christian walk is measured by whether we are known in Hell.

 

 

In the last day, the issue will not be, “Were you evangelized or Christianized but are you recognized?”

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Devotions

Leave a Reply

