Who is Holding the Camera?

“And it is impossible to please God without faith. Anyone who wants to come to him must believe that God exists and that he rewards those who sincerely seek him.”   — Hebrews 11:6

 

 

On July 16, 1969 the Apollo 11 mission thundered into the world’s attention as three brave men; Michael Collins, Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin began the greatest quest in space exploration to this present date.

 

On July 20th, the lunar module Eagle separated from the command module Columbia. Collins, alone aboard Columbia, inspected Eagle as it pirouetted before him to ensure the craft was not damaged.

 

After a brief but breathless descent to the surface of the moon, Neil Armstrong spoke those famous words to the command center in Houston, “Houston, this is Tranquility base. The Eagle has landed.”

 

As the camera rolled, Neil Armstrong climbed out of the lunar module and said, “One small step for man, one giant leap for mankind.”  It was a glorious day. My adventurous heart leaped within me.  Until…

 

I could not share my joys alone.  My father gave me permission to call my grandfather to talk with him about the day’s events.  My grandfather did not share my joys but instead posed a question to me that, as a young boy, I could not immediately answer.  He asked, “If Mr. Armstrong was really the first man on the moon, then who was holding the camera?”

 

Some time later I discovered the answer to my grandfather’s question but for a while my faith in NASA was shaken.  The foresight to mount a camera on one of the limbs of the lunar module gave the world that historic and thrilling shot.

 

I cannot go to the moon.  I cannot verify that an American Flag flies there.  I cannot see Mr. Armstrong’s footprints in the dust.  Some things must be taken by faith. 

 

God is.  He is a rewarder of those who sincerely seek Him.  I know this; not by “concrete fact,” but by “concrete faith!”

 

I read this somewhere:

Faith

When you have come to the edge of all the light you know,

And are about to step off into the darkness of the unknown,

Faith is knowing one of two things will happen:

There will be something to stand on, or you will be taught how to fly.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Devotions

Leave a Reply

