Lonely People

 

“Their insults have broken my heart, and I am in despair. If only one person would show me some pity; if only one would turn and comfort me.”  – Read Psalm 69:20

 

 

J. B. Priestley made a true observation about our times in one of his novels.  He said, “One thing the matter with our modern world is that too many people are leading lonely lives.” 

 

 

He added that though they are living in cities and large towns and are constantly moving among crowds, they are desperately lonely.  As Christians it is one of our responsibilities as well as privileges to befriend people.  The challenge is to take unconditional love into places where it is foreign and unheard of.  We are to touch the heart of others with the heart of God.

 

 

This truth was put into a hymn I used to sing as a teenager,

“Out in the highways and byways of life,

Many are weary and sad.

Carry the sunshine where darkness is rife,

Making the sorrowful glad.                                               

Make me a blessing, Make me a blessing,

Out of my life may Jesus shine;

Make me a blessing, O Savior, I pray,

Make me a blessing to someone today.”

 

 

 

Are there lonely people you pass everyday?  Are there those who cry out for someone to care?  Go care!

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Devotions

Leave a Reply

